Month: July 2008

  • lack of focus

    This week’s awesome finds:

    • Aurora Feint for the iPod Touch 
    • LibraryThing I hate camelcase naming. But I love obsessive statistics and free books – supposedly my first Early Reviewer book is on its way!
    • Apple Banana Cupcakes cupcakes is a misnomer, but they are YUMMY. I made with brown sugar instead of white. 
    • the X in OLS is a DESIGN MATRIX. Experimental design is just a funny way of looking at ANOVAs are just the Network Flows of OLS. mmm. I love when things boil down to something I already understand.

  • time flies

    Summer school officially ends next Friday.

    Luckily, we’re not paying any attention to that, but fall does start up in less than a month.

    Part of the “how thesis hours work” that we talked out was that I would write a paper each session on what I’ve done. In this case, I think the paper is going to be heavy on explaining my plan for what I will do, since I’ve spent so much time being stuck. But developing a plan counts as doing something, right? So I want to spend some time this weekend on that paper.

    I think I got unstuck on the coding too, so I’m feeling much much better about everything.

    I wonder how my advisor would feel about me taking my comps in the spring. :| At the current rate of studying, I’ll barely be through math stat review, let alone my other subjects. There are time when I wish I had background in some of these things. I need to sit down with a calendar and think about how badly I don’t want to study over Xmas this year.

  • rinse, repeat, get comfortable with joint distributions

    man, I’m boring.

    My toe is mostly healed! I can wear shoes that touch my toe! Of course, then I banged up my knee in some strange way that rules out wearing heels. And judo was canceled this week due to gym renovations, so I went to yoga instead.

    yup, boring.

  • Does anyone else traditionally watch “appropriate” movies for July 4?

    Magically, yesterday actually felt like a holiday. Got some good relaxing and reading and game playing and eating in. I’m going to make another round of cupcakes today, because I can. mmmm.

    econ – I really should pull out the other computer and sort out that one to-do. Monday at latest.

    studying – I’m doing much much better at working or tackling hard problems, but I’m still not doing a good job on volume of them. I think I may need to spread out which chapters I’m working on so getting it right is better than getting through.. hrm…

    research – stumped, but reported in and haven’t gotten a flaming email back yet. Meeting Tuesday. I have a few more references I can look through this weekend if I’m just desperate to get something done. *goes and puts that other book on hold* (boo they don’t do holds on local books. I just have to a) remember I mean to get it and b) hope no one else wants it before Tuesday. Don’t they understand that I am easily distracted?)

  • Cheesecake report

    1. This was a really entertaining book
    2. The cheesecake recipe from it is WONDERFUL. It’s pretty easy for a cheesecake, esp if you remember that the food processor is the way to go to make the graham crackers into crumbs. The top layer smooths out any baking imperfections, and makes it gorgeous as well as yummy.