Month: April 2009

  • Bye bye xanga!

    I’ve moved. The “suddenly trying to post to Facebook and acting like a huge error occured” was the final straw, but the click-jacking attempts to get me to post ads and the “new, improved” homepage were getting on my nerves before that.  (oh, and the way tab-complete is all screwy on tags is just irritating.)

  • Homemade granola bars

    The internet is a magical place. Someone on Twitter, who I met through LibraryThing, gave me this fantastic recipe for homemade granola bars. They weren’t as sweet as I feared, but I didn’t do the chocolate chips because I already had raisins and craisins. They’re not chewy, but they’re not super super hard either. Thanks Laurie!

  • garden prep

    We prepped two beds in the sad, dead expanse of our backyard.

    We added garden soil and turned the dirt – removing massive amounts of weird, scary roots from the far bed. Covered in mulch to help retain moisture. I plan to put herbs and other “we need only one” plants in the cinder blocks and the tiny fence is so far convincing the dogs that these are no-poo zones.

    We’ve had snow twice since we did the prepping, and they’re predicting another 4-6 inches this weekend. So, the only things planted out there now are onions and garlic.

    The onions seem to have survived the blizzard:

    (there really is a speck of green in that photo!)

    While we were buying all the supplies, we found berries that will hopefully grow here. Right now they are sitting on the kitchen counter, striving for the sunlight:

    (strawberry, raspberry, blueberry)

    These are going to go in little bush nooks right against the deck where they should get full sun, but be easy to drape a net over the deck edge to keep birds from eating all the berries.

    I just checked, and the mint, oregano, and basil have not decided it’s time to come back yet. The mint and oregano came back last year, so I’m hopeful that the basil will join them.