September 19, 2008

  • end week 5

    Maybe putting 2 yr plans on weekly updates isn’t the awesomest idea – but I’m getting a better grip on the stats language I’m using which makes everything much less frustrating.

    Semester long goals for research (end date – May 2010):
    1. Seriously, get all the standard estimation techniques (and our awesome side ideas) coded up
    2. Come up with a test suite of standard data (why is it called a suite? It makes it sound like it has a sofabed.)
    3. Evaluate techniques and come up with a reasonably easy to view way to report results.

    Semester long goals for comps (end date – March 2009):
    1. Finish first pass through MGB problems (there are many I can’t solve)
    2. Finish reading Applied Regression Analysis (see prev. entry)

    That gives me ~ 3 months to beg for help on the remaining MGB probs and review EDA.

    Actually related to this freaking week:
    1. Get most of econ slides together and run by teacher.
    2. Deliver my actual action items from our last research meeting.

    Random:
    glindagood – we’re doing population models in continuous modeling! I think of you whenever she’s up there groping for examples.

    I found this cookie recipe via someone who has an overlapping LibraryThing library (yes, I am super procrastinator – was that not obvious?) and it’s pretty awesome. If you like things a touch less spicy, drop the allspice.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *